Looking for admissions, majors or financial aid? Visit our Admissions Site.



Grand View Alumni Awards

The Grand View Alumni Relations Department accepts nominations each year for the following four award categories:
Danish Heritage Preservation (alumni-specific award)
Distinguished Alumni (alumni-specific award)
Sally Cartwright Volunteer Service (open to alumni and friends)
10 Under 10 Young Alumni (alumni-specific award)
All nominations will be reviewed in June and award recipients will be notified in July. Awards will be presented during Homecoming festivities the weekend of September 22-24, 2017.
Please read below to learn more about each of these award types and start thinking about who you would like to nominate!
Danish Heritage Preservation Award
The Danish Heritage Preservation Award was initiated in 1996. This prestigious award honors Grand View alumni who have made a significant contribution to preserving Danish heritage for generations to come.
Submit a nomination.
2016 recipient: Erna Jensen, Retired Grand View Math Professor
Distinguished Alumni Award
The Distinguished Alumni Award is presented to Grand View alumni who have done outstanding work in their professions and civic activities and who are recognized by their peers as leaders. In addition, Distinguished Alumni exhibit character and spirit that fulfill the mission of Grand View University--service to others and their community.
Submit a nomination.
2016 recipient: Dana Wingert '11, Police Chief, Des Moines Police Department

Sally Cartwright Volunteer Service Award
The Sally Cartwright Volunteer Service Award is presented to Grand View alumni and friends who have distinguished themselves through service to the University and community and have demonstrated generosity through contribution of personal resources and talents. Sally Cartwright was instrumental in implementing the planned giving program and Heritage Society, and in the restoration of Old Main. She was the assistant vice president for advancement and planned giving until her death in 1993.
Submit a nomination.
2016 recipient: Peter Kiernan '94, '11, Parts Business Manager, John Deere Intelligent Solution Group

10 Under 10 Young Alumni Awards
The 10 Under 10 Young Alumni Award is presented to 10 Grand View alumni who have not yet celebrated 10 years since graduating from Grand View in recognition of making a significant impact in their profession and/or community. This award celebrates the variety of passions and interests of GV alumni and demonstrates how the Grand View experience contributed to their success. Each recipient's vision, drive and leadership in their field or community is considered in the selection process of this award.
Submit a nomination.
2016 recipients: Obsie Birru '12, Ryan Cosgrove '08, Ashley Hartkorn '09, Kelley Johnson '15, Mitchell Johnson '12, LB Lyons '08, Steven Neville '07, Amy Rost '12, Eric Thompson '14, Brenda Wahlert-Brown '11
Questions about these awards? Contact Laine Mendenhall-Buck at 515-263-2957 or alumni@grandview.edu.