Looking for admissions, majors or financial aid? Visit our Admissions Site.



New Members and Officers Elected to Grand View University Board of Trustees


Three new members have joined the Grand View University Board of Trustees: Karen Brodie, Laura Hollingsworth, and Gary Palmer.

Karen Brodie, a Ringsted, Iowa native who is a Grand View alumna, lives in Richardson, Texas. She has been a member of the GV National Alumni Association Council since 2002, as well as of the GV Spotlight on Success Steering Committee, serving as chair of the alumni segment of the campaign. In Texas she serves on numerous boards, including Hope’s Door Women’s Shelter and Board of Governors, and Future Planning Committee.

Laura Hollingsworth was named president and publisher of The Des Moines Register in 2007. In 2008, she was named group president of the West Group for Gannett’s U.S. Community Publishing. She oversees 16 markets in the western region of the United States including Des Moines and Iowa City. She joined Gannett Co., which owns The Register, in 1989. Hollingsworth worked at newspapers in Wisconsin, Washington, Illinois and Michigan prior to joining The Des Moines Register in 2002 as vice president of advertising. In 2005, she was named general manager and directed advertising, circulation, production, marketing, information services, online and the Des Moines weeklies.

Gary Palmer is president and CEO of Prairie Meadows. He served on the board of the Racing Association of Central Iowa (RACI) from 1994-1998 before becoming a full-time staff member at Prairie Meadows in 1998. He is a member of the Civic Center of Greater Des Moines Board of Directors, Des Moines Sports Authority Board of Directors, and President’s Advisory Council at Grand View. He is also active in the Altoona Chamber of Commerce, East Polk Rotary Club, Junior Achievement of Central Iowa, King David Masonic Lodge, United Way of Central Iowa, and Za Ga Zig Shrine.

Mary Coffin, executive vice president, loan servicing for Wells Fargo Home Mortgage, and Brett Harman, president and COO of Independent Surety Holdings, were elected to a second term, and Martha Willits, president and CEO of the Greater Des Moines Partnership, was elected to a third term. The Board of Trustees elected the following officers for 2010-2011: Paul E. Schickler, president of Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc., chair; James W. Noyce, senior advisor to the athletics director and major gifts officer, Drake University, vice chair; Martha A. Willits, secretary; and Robert L. Mahaffey, vice president and treasurer of Anderson Erickson Dairy, treasurer.