Annah Begg Selected for Prestigious Internship Program

March 29, 2019

The World Food Prize Foundation announced the selection of the 2019 Spring George Washington Carver (GWC) Interns. Each academic semester and summer, a group of highly qualified undergraduate and graduate students are chosen for this unique program, which provides interns with the opportunity to take significant responsibility and initiative in planning and carrying out a wide range of the Foundation’s projects.

“The GWC internship is the perfect stepping stone for those wanting to engage with global hunger after college. You work with empowered individuals who treat you like a peer and motivate you to make your own impact,” said Sarah Blair, 2018 Global Youth Institute Intern. “I am leaving this internship inspired to continue to work towards feeding the world because the World Food Prize is proof that women can make a difference in global food insecurity. Regardless if you aren't sure if a career in global hunger is right for you, because I sure wasn't, the GWC internship gives you the professional skills to take on any future career you encounter.”

Eleven interns from the Des Moines Area Community College, Drake University, Grand View University, and Iowa State University will learn first-hand both the public and private side of operating an international non-profit organization and increase their understanding of the international fight against hunger, malnutrition, and poverty. The GWC Interns will work one-on-one with a staff mentor, and play an integral role of this internationally renowned organization as well as the spring Iowa Youth Institute program. More information about the George Washington Carver Internship can be found at www.worldfoodprize.org/gwcintern.

“Interns at the World Food Prize play an absolutely indispensable role in the planning and implementation of all World Food Prize programs,” said Ambassador Kenneth M. Quinn, president of the World Food Prize Foundation. “The success of our upcoming youth education programs and Laureate Announcement is dependent on their input and performance.”

1.      Annah Begg | Grand View University | Class of 2019 | abegg@worldfoodprize.org

2.      Katie Burns | Iowa State University | Class of 2020 | kburns@worldfoodprize.org

3.      Brooke Chesmore | Iowa State University | Class of 2020 | bchesmore@worldfoodprize.org

4.      Zoe Filzer | Des Moines Area Community College | Class of 2018 | zfilzer@worldfoodprize.org

5.      Emma Harper | Iowa State University | Class of 2021 | eharper@worldfoodprize.org

6.      Elmo Plavulj | Drake University | Class of 2019 | eplavulj@worldfoodprize.org

7.      Ashley Morrise | Iowa State University | Class of 2019 | amorrise@worldfoodprize.org

8.      Geoffrey Purcell | Iowa State University | Class of 2022 | gpurcell@worldfoodprize.org

9.      Alyssa Proffitt | Drake University | Class of 2019 | aproffitt@worldfoodprize.org

10.  Katherine Tallett | Drake University | Class of 2021 | ktallett@worldfoodprize.org

11.  Tran Vu | Des Moines Area Community College | Class of 2019 | tvu@worldfoodprize.org

ABOUT THE WORLD FOOD PRIZE:  The World Food Prize is the foremost international award recognizing the achievements of individuals who have advanced human development by improving the quality, quantity or availability of food in the world. The Prize was founded in 1986 by Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, recipient of the 1970 Nobel Peace Prize. Since then, the World Food Prize has honored 48 outstanding individuals who have made vital contributions throughout the world. The World Food Prize annually hosts the Borlaug Dialogue international symposium and a variety of youth education programs to help further the discussion on cutting-edge global food security issues and inspire the next generation to end hunger.