Viking Wrestlers Claim Fifth-Straight Team Title, Break Scoring Record & Crown Three Individual Champions

March 7, 2016

nullThe Grand View wrestling program again made history Saturday night in the final session of the 2016 NAIA Wrestling National Championships in Topeka, Kansas. The Vikings won an unprecedented fifth-straight team national title with 210 points. The point total shattered the previous scoring record of 193 points, which was originally set by former NAIA member Dana (Neb.) in 2006 and later tied by Grand View in 2014.

With the win, the Vikings are the first team in NAIA history to win five-consecutive national titles and Grand View is only the fifth program in collegiate wrestling history (NAIA, NJCAA, NCAA) to win five-or-more consecutive championships.

“It’s awesome,” said Grand View head coach Nick Mitchell. “Some of the teams that are on that list (five-or-more straight winners) it’s just awesome to be associated with some programs like that. I never would have thought that we were going to end up in a place like we are now. We lost six All-Americans last year and had a lot of new faces in the room. We had a bunch of guys that didn’t have national championship experience. To see these guys put in the work, live the championship lifestyle and believe in the system, and have it pay off for them makes me so proud.”

The Vikings had seven individuals in the finals and crowned three national champions.  – Jacob Colon (133 pounds), Michael Pixley (184 pounds) and Dean Broghammer (285 pounds).

Colon won by a 10-0 major decision over Davion Caston of Campbellsville (Ky.) for GV’s first title of the night and his first career national championship.

Pixley, who finished as runner-up last season, won a 6-4 decision over Ryan McWatters of Southern Oregon for his first career national title. He ended the year with a perfect 28-0 record and was voted as the  NWCA-NAIA National Wrestler of the Year Award.

Broghammer took just 56 seconds to pin Taylor Kornoely of Montana State-Northern, who had defeated Broghammer las month. Broghammer was also honored for his individual efforts, claiming the Gorriaran Award after pinning his way to his first national title.

In total, the three title winners give Grand View 18 national champions in the club’s eight-year history.

The Vikings had four national runners-up and all-Americans in Grant Henderson (157), Dallas Houchins (165), Lawton Benna (174), and Grant Harrill (197).

Grand View finished with a total of 10 all-Americans. In addition to its national champions and national runners-up, earning all-American recognition was Godwin Cutler (3rd-133), Walker Marshall (6th-141), and Tanner Werner (3rd-157).

Head Coach Nick Mitchell was honored at the end of the night as the NAIA National Coach of the Year.