Iowa College Media Association Awards

February 15, 2019

On Thursday, February 7, several Grand View University students were honored for their work in student media at the Iowa College Media Association awards ceremony.

More than 15 students were honored for their work in radio, television, written journalism and photography.

In the news media portion of the contest, Grand View’s Viewfinder Media, which produces a print magazine and a news website ( earned 18 awards, including three first-place awards. Viewfinder is advised by Assistant Professor Dayne Logan.

In the radio contest, station KDPS 88.1 took home eight awards, including one first-place award. KDPS is advised by Professor Becky McDonnell.

And in the television contest, GV students won three awards.

Below is a complete list of Iowa college media award winners:

News Media Competition:

Best Feature Photo

Honorable Mention: Chloe Pacha

Best Multimedia Slideshow

Second Place: Katlyn Frame
Third Place: Ally Defino

Best Investigative News Story

Third Place: Zachary Bishop and Missy Farni
Honorable Mention: Kelsey Woodruff

Best Profile Story

Second Place: Annah Begg

Best Feature Story

First Place: Edina Kremic

Best Sports Feature

Honorable Mention: Meghan Gerke

Best Staff Editorial

Honorable Mention: Viewfinder Staff

Best Print Design

First Place: Molly Cox
Second Place: Kally Frisch

Best Magazine/Special Section Cover

First Place: Meghan Gerke

Best Online Edition

Second Place: Viewfinder Staff

Best Graphic or Illustration

Third Place: Meghan Gerke
Honorable Mention: Ben Moeller

Best Use of Social Media

Second Place: Mikayla Morris, Annah Begg and Molly Cox

Radio Competition:

Best Air Personality

Third Place: Adam Fast

Best Promo

Third Place: Kierin Churchman and Gabrielle Gerke

Best Commercial

Second Place: Bailey Smith and Ben Moeller
Third Place: Jake Thompson and Kierin Churchman

Best Newscast

Second Place: Mikayla Morris
Third Place: Gabrielle Gerke
Honorable Mention: Kally Frisch

Best Show (Entertainment)

First Place: Adam Fast, Ben Moeller and Bailey Smith

Best Sports Program

Honorable Mention: A.J. Leporte and Brandon Albaugh

Best Podcast

Honorable Mention: Jake Quirk

Television Competition:

Best News – Public Affairs and Sports Storytelling Package

Second Place: Gabby Defino

Best Experimental Video

First Place: Tobias Tyler

Best Corporate Video

Second Place: Ben Moeller and Jake Quirk